Day Trip In Paradise

20160522_123026.jpgSo every now and again my husband and I get some time to ourselves. This past Sunday my parents took the kids for the day to make memories with them. My husband and I took the opportunity to have lunch out on Captiva at The Bubble Room. The Bubble Room is located at 15001 Captiva Drive, Captiva FL 33924

When I moved to Southwest Florida in 1999, my parents moved our family to Sanibel Island. At the time this was a tough move for me, looking back I was lucky to have been able to live my teen year on Sanibel. It was at times very rough for me.. Now over 15 years later I just may feel a little differently about my time on Sanibel. Any-who, every now and again it is nice to take a trip out there and have breakfast, lunch dinner or visit one of the many beaches.

20160522_123806Sanibel Island is about 30 miles from Bonita Springs, and Captiva is just over 42 miles away. We decided to take the drive through Bonita Beach, and Fort Myers Beach to get to Sanibel and Captiva. We look at it this way, with in 1 hour of Bonita Springs, there are some amazing spots to visit, why not enjoy them too. People for all over the world come here, why not see what they are coming for, and experience it.  It has been just about a year since my husband has been on Fort Myers Beach, so we took the beach. Since they are undergoing a huge road construction project, it was nice to see were they are at, and what is going on down there.

Once you get to the Sanibel bridge there is a $6.00 fee to get onto the island. There are 3 bridges and 2 other smaller islands to cross before you get to the main island. Upon getting on the island, we went right and headed to Captiva. We passed Ding Darling National Refuge, and many other great places to visit. We were on a mission for lunch and amazing desserts.

20160522_130511.jpgWe got to The Bubble Room on Captiva around 1:00 in the afternoon. We were greeted by a smiling hostess and a few Bubble Scouts. Bubble Scouts are what your server identifies as. They wear a scout uniform with different patches on them. They are able to express their personality on their work uniforms with patches of their choice within reason and family friendly. Between the 5 different dining rooms, and all the things they have all over the restaurant, its a wonder that people don’t go there to just look around. Do you remember those Christmas Bubble Lights that you parents or grandparents had? Well they have them as chandeliers in one of the dining rooms.. What about your grandmothers glitter signs, they are in the shadowbox tables. So many amazing things to look at everywhere. There is even an old train that runs though the restaurant. Photos, antiques, trains, signs, stuffed animals, and more. You will have to see it to believe it.

20160522_130945
Above is a photo of their Summer 2016 menu. I had the The Buster Crabbie Cake, and Jonny had the Smoke In Your Eyes Swordfish Dish. Everything tasted amazing. We received a generous portion of everything. Now I am a picky eater, but as I’ve gotten older I have started trying new things, and surprisingly liking the new things I have been trying.

20160522_134233

Now, I will tell you from experience, you HAVE to have the dessert, there is no choice. They are known for their very generous dessert portions, and the melt in your mouth cakes. As the Bubble Scouts say  “What you see is what you get, it is all or nothing.” Katie Gardenia is behind these amazing dessert recipes. Again, this is not a choice, you have to experience these desserts. Even if you go out to just have dessert, and not even have dinner. Yes that happens quite often at The Bubble Room.

20160522_135300

While Jonny and I have some well needed mommy and daddy time on Captiva, the kids were in Cape Coral with their Boppie and Jaju’s making some fun memories with them. They got to have a yummy brunch of waffles, strawberries, blueberries and whipped cream. After they filled their tummies with food, they worked off their energy in their pool. The kids had a great time. Jumping, diving, water guns, belly laughs and maybe a little nap.

After Jonny and I enjoyed the day, we ventured out to Cape Coral to celebrate my mom’s birthday. We went out to dinner with my parents and the kids.  My mom picked a newer restaurant in the Cape that just recently opened. She chose Monarca’s Authentic Mexican Cuisine, located at 1604 SE 46th St, Cape Coral, FL 33904. She chose this restaurant because Aiden’s new food love is for quesadillas and Madison loves steak, rice and cheese. If you like authentic Mexican cusine, you have to try this place out! Located on the water just over the Cape Coral bridge on Del Prado, this little restaurant was amazing.

Feel free to contact me with any questions that you my have. I am available by voice or text at (239) 728-7599, e-mail at AngelaGriffith02@gmail.com or visit my page on LifeInBonitaSprings Angela Griffith Page on LifeInBonitaSprings.com

Want to learn more about the restaurants Jonny and I visited? Just click the links to take you to their page. Bubble Room  Monarca’s Authentic Mexican Cuisine

 

Leave a Reply

